The Oakland Citizens Committee for Urban Renewal (OCCUR) David E. Glover Legacy Awards Honor Business and Community Leaders Including Paul Cobb, Van Jones, And Devon Franklin

Posted on October 29, 2015


 The Oakland Citizens Committee for Urban Renewal (OCCUR) will hosted its second annual David E. Glover Legacy Awards, honoring people who have impacted the lives of others and created change in the community, 6:30pm, Oct. 15 at Impact Hub, 2323 Broadway in Oakland.  It was my honor to fly home to Oakland for this incredible night after being in DC for the 20th Anniversary of the Million Man March.  

 Celebrity hosts of the event will be Devon Franklin, author, film producer, and minister; and Meagan Good, actress- “Think Like a Man,” “Anchorman 2,” “Jumping the Broom”.

 Julius Robinson, Union Bank’s EVP & Group Head of Social Responsibility, was the master of ceremonies.

 The winner of the David E. Glover Vanguard Award is the event’s keynote Van Jones, president and co-founder of Dream Corps. His initiatives include #cut50, #YesWeCode, and Green For All as innovative solutions to “close the prison doors, open the doors of opportunity into a new green economy.”

Other awards:

 David E. Glover Legacy Award – Paul Cobb, Publisher of the Post Newspaper Group, including the Oakland Post. Paul Cobb grew up in West Oakland, graduated from Howard University and spent time in the southern Civil Rights Movement.  It was an honor to celebrate the man that gave me my start in journalism.  Paul Cobb has been a mentor and friend and it was great to be with him and his lovely wife Gay on this special night.  The Cobb’s are certainly a power couple in the Bay Area.  

 The late David Glover, founder of Oakland Citizens Committee for Urban Renewal (OCCUR).

Corporate Award – Otis Watson, Comerica. With nearly 30 years of experience, Otis is recognized in business circles as a corporate and non-profit community affairs executive with strong technical experience in sales, management, operations, and finance.

Community Award – Regina Jackson, executive director of East Oakland Youth Development Center. As President and CEO, Ms. Jackson sets strategic direction for the East Oakland Youth Development Center (EOYDC), a national model for youth development for the past 21 years.

Entrepreneur Award – Frederick Hutson is founder/CEO of Pigeonly, a technology company that focuses on building products for overlooked and underserved markets.

Innovator Award – Christian Anderson, Director of Venture Design at Meyerhoffer Inc., an award winning industrial design firm.

Proceeds will benefit the David E. Glover Education and Technology Youth Digital Media Program.

For sponsorship information, contact CDA Consulting Group at (510) 725-7722 or email


Posted in: Uncategorized